Day 1 – take 2

This is the story of my life–day one, take 2. I am forever making plans and then giving up, only to make a plan again.

Well, no more.

I’m for real this time.

I saw the cardiologist on Wednesday, and she scared me. My blood pressure is high. I tried to explain it away because, you know, I’m not a big fan of doctors, but it’s there. I took it yesterday at Meier just to double check, and the numbers were still too high. Hypertension 1.

Yikes.

I’ve had a headache for the past two days and I’ve convinced myself it’s from the high blood pressure, but I suspect it’s caffeine withdrawal. I’m trying to cut back a little on account of the high blood pressure.

It’s all a mess.

I have an appointment for a stress test in three weeks, and called my primary doctor today to schedule a physical. I scheduled a mammogram, too, just to prove to myself that I’m really doing this taking care of myself thing.

Yesterday, it was easy to stick with a normal eating plan. A handful of nuts and greek yogurt for lunch. There is a big bowl of halloween candy sitting on the coffee table, but you know what? It looks gross to me. I seriously don’t want it.

What I want is to feel good and be healthy. What I want is to be here for my children for a long, long time.

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – take 2

  1. You Go Girl!! Some say that you have to keep your eye on the goal and just keep moving…. others say don’t look too far ahead or you get overwhelmed so just keep your head down and keep moving. Bottom line – just keep moving! We’ll be cheering you all the way!

  2. Thank you for the encouragement, Rachna! I agree — some days, I need to see the big picture. And on others, I just need to make it through the hour without shoving snickers bars in my mouth! :-p

Leave a Reply

